FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

What is classified as on OHV?

Off-highway vehicle means a motor vehicle that is designed primarily for off-highway and all-terrain use. The term includes, but is not limited to:

  1. An all-terrain vehicle;
  2. An all-terrain motorcycle;
  3. A dune buggy;
  4. A snowmobile; and
  5. Any motor vehicle used on public lands for the purpose of recreation

Who is required to register their OHV?

With certain exceptions, every owner of an OHV shall register their OHV. Registration of an off-highway vehicle is not required if the off-highway vehicle:

  1. Is owned and operated by:
    1. A federal agency;
    2. An agency of this State; or
    3. A county, incorporated city or unincorporated town in this State;
  2. Is part of the inventory of a dealer of off-highway vehicles and is affixed with a special dealer license plate;
  3. Is registered or certified in another state and is located in this State for not more than 15 days;
  4. Is used solely for husbandry on private land or on public land that is leased to or used under a permit issued to the owner or operator of the off-highway vehicle;
  5. Is used for work conducted by or at the direction of a public or private utility; or
  6. Was manufactured before January 1, 1976.
  7. Is operated solely in an organized race, festival or other event that is conducted:
    1. Under the auspices of a sanctioning body; or
    2. By permit issued by a governmental entity having jurisdiction;
  8. Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (d), is operated or stored on private land or on public land that is leased to the owner or operator of the off-highway vehicle, including when operated in an organized race, festival or other event;
  9. Is used in a search and rescue operation conducted by a governmental entity having jurisdiction; or
  10. Has a displacement of not more than 70 cubic centimeters.

“Sanctioning body” means an organization that establishes a schedule of racing events, grants rights to conduct those events and establishes and administers rules and regulations governing the persons who conduct or participate in those events.

Operation


Can I ride in Nevada with a registration from another state?


Yes. Registration of an off-highway vehicle is not required if the vehicle is registered or certified in another state and is located in this State for not more than 15 days.

Will other states honor my Nevada registration?


Please check with the authorities in the area where you will be riding. Most western states have reciprocity laws and will accept a Nevada registration. However, you should ask locally before you ride.

Will my Nevada registration enable me to ride in areas where OHVs were not previously allowed


Please check with the authorities in the area where you will be riding. The registration laws (NRS Chapter 490) do not authorize or prohibit riding in any specific area.

Will I be able to operate my OHV on the street after registering it?


Generally, operation of an OHV on the street is not allowed, unless posted. See the Rules of Operation (NRS 490.090 through 490.130) for details.

Do I need to have liability insurance to register my OHV?


Liability insurance is not required to obtain a registration decal.

My vehicle is registered for use on the highway. Will I need an OHV decal to operate my vehicle off-road?


You will not be required to obtain an OHV decal if your vehicle is registered for use on-road.

I now have a Certificate of Operation from the Department of Taxation. Do I still need to get a registration decal?


Yes. You will need to obtain a registration decal.

Will I still need to buy a temporary OHV registration when I ride in other states that require registration?


No. A valid Nevada OHV registration decal will allow you to ride your OHV in other states that have an OHV registration program. Please check with the authorities in the area where you will be riding.

Where do I place the decal on the vehicle?


Each registration decal issued for an off-highway vehicle must be placed on the left side or rear of the off-highway vehicle in such a manner that the registration decal is clearly visible from the left side or rear of the off-highway vehicle.

What are the penalties for failing to register my OHVs?


The fine for failing to register is $100 (NRS 490.520).
Law enforcement may seize vehicles that are being operated improperly, are stolen or if the VIN has been tampered with (NAC 490 Section 83).
Offenses related to a false or fraudulent registration or title are gross misdemeanors or felonies.

Registration


What information is required to purchase a registration decal? (NRS 490.082)


If the OHV was purchased prior to July 1, 2012, the following is required:

  1. Proof the OHV was purchased prior to the effective date by a purchase agreement or the  affidavit in Form OHV-001A.
  2. Proof you are the owner of the OHV by an ownership document or or the  affidavit in Form OHV-001A.
  3. Proof of the vehicle identification number (VIN) by a VIN inspection conducted by a Nevada OHV dealer or law enforcement.

If the OHV was purchased on or after July 1, 2012, the following is required:

  1. If sales tax is due, proof that sales tax was paid by an Off-Highway Vehicle Report of Sale from a Nevada dealer or a Use Tax Clearance Certificate (Form APP-08.01) from the Department of Taxation. If sales tax is not due (as in a private party sale), the affidavit available in Form OHV-001C must be completed.
  2. Proof you are the owner of the OHV by an ownership document or the affidavit available in Form OHV-001B or OHV-001C.
  3. Proof of the vehicle identification number (VIN) by an Off-Highway Vehicle Report of Sale from a Nevada dealer, a VIN inspection conducted by a Nevada dealer if the OHV was purchased from an out-of-state dealer or the ownership documents if the OHV was previously registered in Nevada.


When am I required to register my OHV?


You must register within 30 days of purchase or register any existing OHV as soon as possible.

How much will it cost to register my OHV? (NRS 490.084)


The Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles set the fee for a first time or annual renewal registration decal at $20 per year. By law, the fee must be not less than $20 or more than $30.

Who is required to title their OHV? (NRS 490.082)


Every owner of an OHV that was purchased on or after July 1, 2012 will be required to obtain a certificate of title for their OHV.

What information do I need to title my OHV? (NRS 490.082)


Proof that you are the owner of the OHV by an ownership document or affidavit. An affidavit alone will not guarantee a title will be issued. You must provide evidence satisfactory to the DMV that you are the owner of the OHV. Each case will be handled individually by the DMV’s OHV Unit.

When am I required to title my OHV?


The owner of an OHV that was purchased prior to July 1, 2012 may obtain a Nevada Certificate of Title, but it is not required.
The owner of an OHV that was purchased on or after July 1, 2012 must obtain a title within 30 days of purchase.

How much will it cost to title my OHV?


For each original or duplicate certificate of title issued for an off-highway vehicle present or registered in this State, the cost is $20.00. A $8.25 processing fee will be added for each complete change of ownership of an OHV.
For each title issued for an OHV not present in or registered in this State, the anticipated cost is $35.00. A $8.25 processing fee will be added for each complete change of ownership of an OHV.

Can I go to the DMV to complete my OHV transaction?


No. Most OHV transactions may not be completed at DMV offices. OHV transactions are conducted via mail or through a Nevada licensed OHV dealer. A limited number of transactions will also be available on the web and by fax.
The only exception is when you must bring an OHV to a DMV inspection station if it does not have a vehicle identification number.

Can an OHV dealer register and/or title my OHV for me?


A Nevada licensed OHV dealer can submit the necessary documentation and you will later receive your OHV title and registration decal in the mail. Dealers may charge up to $2 for each registration or title application they submit. These fees are paid to the dealer separately.

Where can I find a list of Nevada licensed OHV dealers?


All dealers in Nevada that sell OHVs are required to be licensed through the Nevada DMV. See DMV Business License Verification for a list.

Can I purchase a registration decal without purchasing title? (NRS 490.082)


You can purchase a registration decal without purchasing a title if you purchased your OHV prior to July 1, 2012. If you purchased your OHV on or after July 1, 2012, you are required to obtain a title.

Can I purchase a title without getting a registration decal? (NRS 490.082)


Generally, no. Nevada law requires all owners of an OHV to obtain a registration decal with only limited exceptions.

Do I have to pay sales tax on the purchase of my OHV?


Sales tax is due in Nevada if the OHV was purchased from a dealer; however, proof that sales tax was paid is required for registration only if the OHV was purchased on or after July 1, 2012. See the Nevada Department of Taxation’s Sales and Use Tax Publications if you purchase from an out-of-state dealer.
If the OHV was purchased from a private party, no sales tax is due.

I lost the Nevada title for my OHV. How can I get a replacement?


Submit an Application for Duplicate Title (OHV-007) along with the necessary fees to the DMV via mail or through a Nevada OHV dealer.

My registration sticker is lost or damaged. How can I get a replacement?


We encourage you to order your duplicate online. You may also complete and mail an Application for Duplicate Decal (OHV-007).

I moved. How do I change the address on my OHV registrations?


Complete and mail a Change of Address Notification (OHV-010). This form must be completed and mailed separately from the address change for your driver license and on-highway vehicle registration. See DMV Address Changes.

How do I renew my registration and get a new decal each year?


The registration decal expires one year after the date of issuance. You will receive a renewal notice notice in the mail approximately 30 days before renewal. We encourage you to renew online. You may also renew by mail using the Registration Renewal Application (OHV 012).

The cost is $20. If the decal is renewed after the expiration date of the current decal, a $25 late fee will added to your decal renewal fee. (NRS 490.082)


The OHV Program


What is the Off-Highway Vehicle Title and Registration Program?


Senate Bill 394 from the 2009 Nevada Legislature requires certain owners of off-highway vehicles (OHV) to obtain titles and annual registration decals. During the 2011 legislative session, Senate Bill 130 extended the amount of time to implement the program and Senate Bill 387 enabled VIN assignment. In 2013, SB 56 made accounting changes. SB 109 adjusted the rules for dealers, added new registration exemptions and changed the size of the registration decal. SB 343 authorizes OHV operation on certain county roads.

2009 Senate Bill 394: History | Text |  Notice of Availability of Startup Funding

2011 Senate Bill 130: History | Text | 2011 Senate Bill 387: History | Text

2013 SB 56: History | Text | SB 109:  History | Text  SB 343:  History | Text


What is the Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles? (NRS 490.067 – 490.069)


The Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles is made up of 11 voting members appointed by the Governor and nine non-voting members. The Commission is responsible for allocating money from the Fund for Off-Highway Vehicles for various projects related to off-highway vehicles.

See About Us for meeting dates and other information.


Who are the members of the OHV Commission?


The voting members of the OHV Commission represent various groups and are appointed by the Governor (NRS 490.067).

The non-voting members of the OHV Commission represent various agencies and are appointed by the voting members (NRS 490.068).


Where does the money go?


The DMV keeps a portion of the registration fees to maintain the OHV program, while the balance goes to the Fund for Off-Highway Vehicles. The Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles allocates these funds for various projects related to OHVs. See NRS 490.069 and 490.084.

Off-Highway Vehicle Laws and Regulations