List of Currently Licensed Dealers
These dealers are authorized to perform VIN inspections on off-highway vehicles.
In remote areas, you may also ask a local law enforcement agency to complete the inspection.
Businesses and Salespersons must have a DMV business license to legally sell off-highway vehicles in Nevada. The following packet contains the information and forms. The registration and Title Guide contains the specific procedures.
OHV Laws and Regulations
Frequently Asked Questions
I am an OHV dealer. What licensing will be required in order for me to sell OHVs? (NRS 490.200)
An Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer’s license will be required to sell OHVs in Nevada. Complete the Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer and Salesman Licensing Packet (OBL 329)
My business is already licensed through the DMV. Do I need to get a new license to sell OHVs? (NRS 490.200)
Yes, an OHV dealer’s license will be required regardless if a dealer has a license to sell vehicles manufactured for use on road.
Will my license to sell OHVs allow me to sell vehicles manufactured for on road use (NRS 490.200)?
No. A dealer licensed to sell off-highway vehicles may not sell vehicles manufactured for use on road without a separate license issued pursuant to NRS Chapter 482. See Occupational & Business Licensing
I am an OHV Salesperson. What licensing will be required in order for me to sell OHVs (NRS 490.420)?
If you currently have a license to sell motor vehicles in Nevada, you will be required to get a new activity on your license. If you do not have a license to sell motor vehicles in Nevada, you will be required to obtain a license to sell OHVs in Nevada. Complete the salesman portions of the Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer and Salesman Licensing Packet (OBL 329)
Who is responsible for providing documents to the DMV for OHV titles? (NRS 490.440)
A Nevada OHV dealer that sells an OHV in this State is required to submit an Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer’s Report of Sale and necessary titling documents to the DMV.
Will I be able to submit applications for OHV registration decals?
Nevada OHV dealers will have the ability to apply for registration decals via mail for their customers.
How much can a dealership charge to submit the paperwork for an OHV title? (NRS 490.070)
A dealer may charge up to $2 for each application for a certificate of title submitted to the DMV.
How much can a dealership charge to submit the paperwork for an OHV registration decal? (NRS 490.070)
An OHV dealer may charge up to $2 for each application for a registration decal submitted to the DMV.
Will a dealership be able to perform VIN inspections?
Yes. Vehicle identification number (VIN) inspections may be performed by licensed OHV dealers or law enforcement. Inspections are not performed by the DMV. However, customers must visit the DMV for a VIN assignment if needed on older vehicles.
Will a dealership be able to assign Vehicle Identification Numbers to OHVs?
No. The Department of Motor Vehicles has the responsibility for assigning all VINs. NRS 490.0835
Will a dealership be able to transact directly with the DMV?
Dealers will only be able to transact with the DMV via regular mail or by phone. For licensing issues, dealers may contact a DMV Occupational and Business Licensing office
. The DMV will provide books of Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer’s Report of Sale (Form OHV-004) to each OHV dealer upon request.